Complete this form with your details for accessing the contents reserved for registered users
Click here
Forgotten your password? Click here


You have still not activated your email. We have sent you an email. You must click on the attached link to activate your account.

You are in: Home > 2016. 64th Edition  > Awards and Jury Members > Europe-Latin America Co-Production Forum Jury > Simón de Santiago Aréizaga
Simón de Santiago Aréizaga
Europe-Latin America Co-Production Forum Jury

Born in Burgos in 1971, Simón followed European Business Studies (E-4) in Madrid and London, and film production at the ESEC in Paris.

Between 1997 and 2007 he occupied different positions with the Sogecable group. He was a film buyer for Canal+ Spain, changing positions in 2002 to become International Sales Manager at Sogepaq, selling titles including Julio Medem’s Lucía y el sexo (Sex and Lucia, 2001), Fernando León de Aranoa’s Los lunes al sol (Mondays in the Sun, 2002) Icíar Bollaín’s Te doy mis ojos (Take My Eyes, 2003) and Alejandro Amenábar’s Academy Award-winner Mar Adentro (The Sea Inside, 2004), also producing titles for Sogecine such as Julio Medem’s Captiva Ana (Chaotic Ana, 2007) or Icíar Bollaín’s Metatarsi (2007).

In 2007 he moved into independent production, creating MOD Productions with Fernando Bavaria and Pablo Alfaro. MOD produced Alejandro Amenábar’s Agora (2009) (presented at the Cannes Festival and Spanish cinema’s biggest box-office hit of 2009), followed by Alejandro González Iñárritu’s Biutiful (2010, Best Actor Award at Cannes for Javier Bardem). The film received two Academy Award nominations for Best Actor (Javier Bardem) and Best Film in a Foreign Language. In 2011, MOD presented with enormous success the series Crematorio for Canal+ (winner of the Ondas Award). Other productions by MOD include Oskar Santos’s El mal ajeno (2010), Daniel Sánchez Arévalo’s Primos (2011) and La gran familia española (2013), Javier Ruiz Caldera’s Promoción Fantasma (2012), Oscar Santos’s Zipe y Zape y el Club de la Canica (Zip & Zap and the Marble Gang, 2013), Manuel Martín Cuenca’s Caníbal (2013) – both presented at the San Sebastian Festival – and Alejandro Amenábar’s recent Regression (2015) – opening film of the San Sebastian Festival’s 63rd edition, Joaquín Mazón’s Cuerpo de Élite (2016) and Oskar Santos’s Zipe y Zape y la Isla del Capitán (Zip & Zap and the Captain’s Island, 2016).


Official Sponsor
Media Partner
Official Collaborators:
Associated Institutions:
© San Sebastian International Film Festival | Developed by: Yo Miento Producciones