Complete this form with your details for accessing the contents reserved for registered users
Click here
Forgotten your password? Click here


You have still not activated your email. We have sent you an email. You must click on the attached link to activate your account.

You are in: Home > 2021. 69th Edition  > News > ‘Nomadland’, by Chloé Zhao, will receive the FIPRESCI Grand Prix 2021 for Best Film of the Year
‘Nomadland’, by Chloé Zhao, will receive the FIPRESCI Grand Prix 2021 for Best Film of the Year
Wednesday, August 18th, 2021

Nomadland, directed by Chloé Zhao, has obtained the FIPRESCI Grand Prix 2021 after having been voted best film of the year 2021 by the members of the International Federation of Film Critics, FIPRESCI. Participating in the vote were 633 critics from all over the world, who have chosen this North American production from all of the films released after 1st July 2020.   

The other four finalists were Druk / Another Round, by Thomas Vinterberg, winner of the Silver Shell for Best Actor for all members of its starring quartet in San Sebastian, Best European Film Award and Academy Award for Best International Feature, among many other accolades; Quo Vadis, Aida?, by Jasmila Zbanic, a competitor at the last Venice Festival and Academy Award nominee; Ras vkhedavt rodesac cas vukurebt? / What Do We See When We Look at the Sky?, by Alexandre Koberidze, which competed at the last Berlin Festival, where it won the Fipresci Prize, and Babardeală cu bucluc sau porno balamuc / Bad Luck Banging or Loony Porn, by Radu Jude, Golden Bear at Berlin Festival in 2021.

Chloé Zhao receives this distinction with her third feature film following Songs My Brother Taught Me (2015) and The Rider (2017). The FIPRESCI Grand Prix is the latest recognition received by Nomadland (Perlak, 2020) which, after winning the Golden Lion at Venice in 2020, has gone on to reap an endless list of awards particularly including the Golden Globes for Best Motion Picture in the drama category and Best Director, the BAFTAs for Best Film, Director, Cinematography and Leading Actress and the Academy Awards for Best Film, Best Director and Best Leading Actress.   

Since its creation in 1999, the FIPRESCI Grand Prix has been received by hugely important filmmakers including Pedro Almodóvar, Michael Haneke, Cristian Mungiu, Jean-Luc Godard, Richard Linklater, Roman Polanski, George Miller, Maren Ade, Aki Kaurismäki, Paul Thomas Anderson and Alfonso Cuarón.

The FIPRESCI Grand Prix will be presented during the opening gala of the 69th San Sebastian Festival. In 2020 the award was left undecided due to the cancellation of festivals and releases caused by the Covid-19 crisis.


Chloé Zhao (China)
Country(ies) of production: USA
Cast: Frances McDormand, David Strathairn, Linda May, Charlene Swankie

Following the economic collapse of a company town in rural Nevada, Fern packs her van and sets off on the road exploring a life outside of conventional society as a modern-day nomad. The film features real nomads Linda May, Swankie and Bob Wells as Fern’s mentors and comrades in her exploration through the vast landscape of the American West.

Official Sponsor
Media Partner
Official Collaborators:
Associated Institutions:
© San Sebastian International Film Festival | Developed by: Yo Miento Producciones